Available now from all good retailers


A violent murder. An ice cold killer ….

On a bitterly cold winter night, Kelly Ramage leaves her suburban home, telling her husband she’s going to meet a friend.

But she never comes back.

When her body is discovered, murdered in what seems to be a sex game gone horribly wrong, Detectives Gino and Magozzi take the case, expecting to find a flirtatious trail leading straight to the killer.

However, Kelly’s sinister lover has done a disturbingly good job of hiding his identity.

This isn’t his first victim.

And she won’t be the last ….


I started reading this series many years ago when it was first recommended on the Richard and Judy booklist (UK). I fell in love with all the main characters, and bought and read all the books until around book six then I didn’t seem to see anymore until spotting them again recently.

I haven’t read the last two books but was keen to read this one. The earlier books were written by mother and daughter combination but sadly the mother passed away in 2016. But it’s good to see that the daughter has continued with the series and has kept it faithful to the previous books,and it is still very well written, in what I am sure must have been difficult at times. This is the tenth book in the Monkeewrench series although it doesn’t matter if you haven’t read any of the previous novels, it does help you know the characters better, if after reading this one if you enjoy it start at the beginning, get to know all the characters and what they do. I can guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

This can be read as a stand-alone novel. All the usual characters in the series are great each bringing their own speciality to the table. The I.T geniuses Grace, Harley, Annie and Roadrunner have been taken on by a crypto currency company called Bit Monster to improve its security after being hacked which led to them losing a lot of money.

Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolspeth MPD detectives get a visit from a psychic wanting to report a murder that hasn’t yet happened, but there are no details that could help a potential future victim, if the psychic is right in what she says!

There are several things going on within the storyline, a serial killer, a female searching for a war criminal, along with an art gallery showing sculptures of torture/murder.

This is another successful book in the series and the characters continue to get stronger and stronger. Look forward to seeing where they go next. There is plenty within this book to keep you engrossed. Brilliantly written. Well plotted, what more could anyone want from a book. I highly recommend this and all the other nine books in the series if you haven’t read them. I give this book 5 out of 5


P.J. Tracy was the pseudonym for the mother-and-daughter writing team of P. J. And Tracy Lambrecht. Together P.J. And Tracy were authors of the bestselling thrillers want to play? (a Richard and Judy Book Club Pick), Live Bait, Dead Run, Snow Blind, Play to kill, Two evils, Cold Kill and Nothing Stays Buried. P.J passed away in 2016 but Traci has continued the series with The Guilty Dead and Ice cold Heart.

  • Publisher :Michael Joseph
  • Publication date: 22nd August 2019
  • Language:English
  • Book length 384
  • ISBN-10: 0241345820
  • ISBN-13: 978-0241345825

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s