Winter 1996 an old man is driving home when his headlights catch an animal on the empty road up ahead. He stamps hard on the brakes. But it is not an animal at all. It is a young boy, frightened and alone, with a set of deer antlers strapped firmly to his head.

Fourteen years later, a body is found in a mountain lake. Within weeks, three people have died. Each time, the killer has left a clue, inviting Special Investigations Detectives Munch and Kruger to play a deadly game – a game they cannot possibly win. Against the most dangerous and terrifying kind of serial killer. One who chooses their victims completely at random.

To find the killer they must look deep within their own dark pasts, but how can you stop a murderer when you cannot begin to predict their next move?


And they are back for the third book in the series, Holger Munch is still hoping that he and his wife will get back together, not going to happen, and Mia Kruger is still totally obsessed with her dead twin sister. But aside from that they have another’s case to work on. I loved the first two books in the series, so was really looking forward to what was to come in book three, and I wasn’t disappointed.

This is a gripping read, starting in 1999, an old man driving home in the dark, the roads cold and icy, which he clearly isn’t comfortable with, he had hoped to be home before darkness hit,he is concentrating hard on the road, you could almost feel his stress levels, when all of a sudden there’s something in the road ahead, at first he thought it was an animal, slamming his brakes on he stops just in time, to find a young boy alone in the middle of the road with antlers stuck to his head, what a start. But will this be linked to anything later in the book and how?

We jump 14 years, to a father and son are out fishing on a lake, the young boy is so enjoying his time with his dad, a thing his mum wants to put an end to. The boy casts his line off, so happy he has done it right and is pleasing his father, when the line starts being pulled the father helps his son trying to pull the catch in, until he sees what it is, and tells the boy not too look, of course what do you do when told not to do something, yes you’ve got it you do the opposite. It’s not a fish on the hook but the body of a young girl, a ballet dancer in full costume. A needle mark on the body, but no idea how she ended up in the lake. Within weeks, three people are dead, the killer has left a clue, inviting Munch and Kruger to play a deadly game, but is it a game they have any chance of winning?

Kruger and Munch and the team of the elite homicide squad know they have to catch this killer. Bodies that seem to be have been randomly picked and staged in different places in the Norwegian countryside. But there doesn’t seem to be a pattern to the killings, or motive, is this a thrill kill? This makes it much harder for the team, they know they have to work hard, and work quick to catch this killer. But when it’s random and no motive where do you start?

This is another tightly plotted book by Samuel Bjork, the story is told through numerous viewpoints. A good overview of police procedural detail, and the brilliant workings of the mind of Mia who is always insightful. The atmospheric settings work brilliantly with the story. At times very complex, with characters thrown in as red herrings but threads that bind to knit the plot together with ease

Munch and Kruger’s partnership on the face of it shouldn’t work, but somehow it just does. This book is a stand alone novel, but I think that it helps to have read the first two books, to understand the main characters better, to get to know their quirks, their background.

This is another successful book by Samual Bjork if you like Nordic noir, I recommend this book and the other two in the series. Gripping from start to finish. Highly rated I give it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ out of ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.

I would like to thank netgalley and Doubleday publishers for an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest, fair,and unbiased review.


Samuel Bjork is the pen name of Norwegian novelist, playwright and singer/songwriter Frode Sander Oien. The Munch and Kruger series features three books: the Richard & Judy Bookclub bestseller I’m Travelling Alone, The Owl Always Hunts At Night and The Boy in The Headlights.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s